PPL License Jurisdiction

Gavin Johnston

Hey first time poster here :)

So I'm looking to start up an online radio station in the UK featuring live DJs who will be playing some commercial music. I've been looking into the set up costs which are all relatively low, apart from the costs of a PPL license, which I'd rather avoid since I'm a poor student.

My question: If I was to stream my radio station from a server abroad and out of UK jurisdiction, do you think I can bypass PPL fees or will this bite me in the ass another way, since my DJs are over here?

Many Thanks

Support

Level 1 Support
Staff member
Hi Gavin,

Welcome to the forums. :)

If you plan on playing copyrighted material which you do not have permission from the copyright owner then you should have a license, regardless of where physically the server itself is located you are still broadcasting from within the UK. And yes, this will most likely catch up with you one way or another to be honest if you tried to avoid it. Perhaps, as a suggestion, you and your DJ's could all chip in together to cover the fee to make it more affordable.

Hope that helps.

General Lighting

Super Moderator
Staff member
if its mainstream pop music you would still have to sign up to the copyright authorities in the country where the server is based, obey their compliance requirements and they also would have to have a reciprocal agreement with the UK to allow the music to be lawfully transmitted here.

Although the process is simpler and slightly cheaper elsewhere in Northern Europe the compliance rules are equally complex - to the point 90% of EDM mixes are non compliant because the DJ's/producers are playing more than 3 of their own tracks which isn't allowed by many copyright authorities but they are also sharing the mixes online so aren't going to report themselves :D)