Need Icecast help

Rickenbacker

I'm an Icecast noob looking to start my own radio station, but have come to a wall in terms of installation/finishing. I've gotten as far as where you can see that administrator screen with the "Global Server Stats".
What next? I'm totally confused on how Winamp is connected to it.
Need someone to walk me through it like I'm trying to land a plane since the directions on the icecast site are Greek to me.
Thanks for Any help!

Attachments

• screen2.jpg
    screen2.jpg
    85.3 KB · Views: 819
Last edited:

Support

Level 1 Support
Staff member
Unfortunately at the moment we just do not have the time to walk you through setting up your own personal Icecast server we are afraid. Also for your information Winamp (and its Shoutcast DSP plugin) won't work with Icecast.

LG73

I'm an Icecast noob looking to start my own radio station, but have come to a wall in terms of installation/finishing. I've gotten as far as where you can see that administrator screen with the "Global Server Stats".
What next? I'm totally confused on how Winamp is connected to it.
Need someone to walk me through it like I'm trying to land a plane since the directions on the icecast site are Greek to me.
Thanks for Any help!

Hi Rickenbacker,

There is documentation on-line at http://www.icecast.org/docs/icecast-2.4.1/config-file.html that has the info. you need to do this. For Shoutcast you need to add lines to the icecast.xml configuration file that looks like this:

<listen-socket>
<port>8000</port>
<shoutcast-mount>/live.mp3</shoutcast-mount>
</listen-socket>