Advice needed - to rent a server or not??

beauchampy

Hello all, first time poster here!

I'm an IT tech at a school with a background in audio engineering. Having setup the school's internet radio station (currently internal network only!), our presenters (adult) would like to stream a show publicly continuously for 72 hours for a charity fund raising event!

Currently we are using a Mac running Nicecast.

We have a 200mbit fibre connection with only one public IP address.

Requirements:
-A very very stable streaming server which needs to maintain up time of at least 72 hours.
-Connection capacity for up to 300 listeners.
-The ability to play the stream from a player embedded on our website.

I see two options..
1. Host the server here using Nicecast.
2. Rent a server and stream to it using Nicecast.

Questions:
- I like the idea of option 2 as it means all the connections aren't handled by an i5 Mac mini with 4gb ram.. Or is that plenty?! I don't know. How much horsepower do you get from hiring a server?
- I know we have a massive amount of bandwith at school, however the single IP thing means the server would sit behind a firewall and we would forward the streaming port to it, we wouldn't be able to put the server in a DMZ or give it a public IP. That ok?
- Is Nicecast a professional enough package to handle 300 connections? Am I being naive in attempting to use this as the sole piece of streaming software?
- What do you guys do for a fail safe incase your server falls over?
- Should I just hire a sever!? Which ones are any good!?

Thoughts greatly appreciated. Sorry about the disjointed rambling!

sojic

Shortly: I like "in house" solutions... but sometimes outsourced service has advantages.

In your case, I think it is good solution to rent a server. Nicecast is OK to stream.

If you have local streaming, you might set it public (setting DMZ), and configure the rented server to "relay" the local stream.

Support

Level 1 Support
Staff member