Complete beginner looking to get on the airwaves so to speak

Genre Fluid

When I say “COMPLETE BEGINNER” I mean it. I know how to get the equipment talking to the software and where you can and can’t stream legally but I have no idea how to mix. My style is more Tony Blackburn than Nicky Black Market.

Here is a trial stream I did. It’s not the best but I am a complete beginner

AndyC

The equipment you have will make all the difference. Some people say you just need a computer and a microphone, but that will make it extremely difficult to make a professional sounding show. At the very least you will need two computers (one to play the music and jingles etc and the other to record your show, a microphone and a decent mixer, ideally a broadcast mixer as they work slightly differently to the mixers DJs use at live gigs etc.

If you type 'radio aircheck' into Youtube you will find lots of radio presenters (I hate the term DJs) doing their thing and you will be able to watch what they are doing. Radio presenting is a totally different thing to being a live club DJ and generally people who are good at one are terrible at the other. Learn broadcasting from people who broadcast is the best bit of advice I can give.

DavcoMedia

The equipment you have will make all the difference. Some people say you just need a computer and a microphone, but that will make it extremely difficult to make a professional sounding show. At the very least you will need two computers (one to play the music and jingles etc and the other to record your show, a microphone and a decent mixer, ideally a broadcast mixer as they work slightly differently to the mixers DJs use at live gigs etc.