Setup suggestions/advice

heartcore

Hi all, I need some advice on how to setup for best performance and usability our little web radio.

What we want:
  • radio automation software for automated playlists, posts, jingles etc.(linux or windows?) when we are not live
  • be able to air phone calls (voip etc), and be able to talk off air as well
  • able to record live shows

What we have
  • 2 PC's (1x turbo with lots of ram 1x regular)
  • 1x behringer xenyx q1204 console (with usb soundcard)
  • 1x behringer xenyx 1002 console
  • both pc's have on board soundcards, plus with have 1x pci souncard
  • 2x studio monitors
  • headphones/mics etc

Any suggestions ideas would be highly appreciated, for example should I make one a linux server running jack and airtime? Should I use windows and perhaps sam? (don't like that) I have basic knowledge so far but need some advice.

Thank you in advance

Support

Level 1 Support
Staff member
Hi heartcore,

Firstly, welcome to the forums. 8)

For radio automation software, you may wish to have a look at our 'AutoDJ' feature: Internet Radio Auto DJ With this you can create scheduled playlists for when you are not live. The automation software is run on the radio server itself, so it does not matter if your own PC is Windows / Linux / Mac.

You will be able to do live chat on air as you seem to have a lot of the necessary equipment already (mixer / mics etc). Unfortunately, we are not familiar with VOIP services so we are unable to assist you with this. Commonly other users tend to use Skype for such purposes. Hopefully some other users may be familiar with VOIP and can advise you on this perhaps?

You would not be able to record live shows with the radio server control panel software. However, just about all live stream encoding software has the ability to record the shows to your computer whilst broadcasting this live to the server at the same time.