Talk show w/guests

srwiley1962

Dear All,
I'm an absolute newbie to this internet radio stuff, and have a idea for an internet radio show. I'm looking into a talk format and need to know how I'd record or broadcast live w/multiple speakers (guests) talking w/one another at the same time. I presume I'd need a multi-channel mixer of some sorts.
Can anyone point me in the right direction for this particular question?
Thanks in advance.

Steve W.

Support

Level 1 Support
Staff member
Hi Steve,

Yes, for this you would require a multi-channel mixing desk and several microphones. The output of the mixing desk would then be required to go into an input of your soundcard. Then with this you could either stream it live with stream encoding software installed on your PC, or you could just pre-record this and then later stream the audio file with your chosen streaming software.

We hope this helps. :)

srwiley1962

Thank You Support,
Any chance you could lean me toward a brand of mixing board (are they PC specific, or do I just need RCA-USB cord w/ a regular audio mixer?)
Is there a perticular location I could go to find out all the ins and outs of starting a radio show?
Thanks again,

Steve.

General Lighting

Super Moderator
Staff member
some mixing desks have USB soundcards built in which you can use for streaming. Equally you can use a separate USB one on your PC and a standard analogue mixing desk.

Desks intended specifically for broadcast have slightly different features and can be more expensive than those just intended for recording a band or your DJ mixes if you like EDM.

What country are you in? Although AV equipment is semi globalised, operational methods for a radio station vary from country to country, as an example although the UK and USA often use the same equipment in their stations, how it is set up is subtly different.

Support

Level 1 Support
Staff member
Thank You Support,